Wish everyone who has been continuously supporting us a very happy new year

Hello, 2021

Jianyun Zhang, President

Hongwu Tang, Executive President

As we approach the end of 2020, we will soon usher into a brand new year, which is also the second new year since the founding of YICODE. On behalf of the Institute, we would like to extend our heartfelt thanks and sincere wishes to all the people who have supported us.

In 2020, thanks to the support from the Jiangsu Provincial Government, China Three Gorges Corporation, the Ministry of Water Resources, the Ministry of Education and other partner organisations, we were able to stay faithful to our aspirations of protecting the Yangtze River and promoting quality development in its basin, and our year of 2020 has been highly productive.

Our research in 2020 has been very fruitful. YICODE was on the teams leading or closely involved in quite a number of key research and development programmes, including 6 projects and more than 20 themes under the 13th FYP research programmes of China, and more than 30 projects funded by NSFC. We launched 40 research projects on our own open funds. We succeeded in bidding for 6 projects under the “Yangtze Fund” with a total grant close to 15 million Chinese yuan. We partnered with the Provincial Development Reform Commission of Jiangsu to jointly launch 5 projects closely related to the management of Yangtze in the province, which are on the Phase II project of the east route of South-to-North Water Diversion, aquatic ecosystem of the Taihu Lake, Yangtze River transportation and protection of the Yangtze finless porpoise, relocation of riparian chemical industries, and bank protection and usage. Our blue book on protection and green development of the Yangtze, which is the first piece of literature devoted to this area, was pulished in 2020. Through internal policy consultations and external media interviews, we were able to provide our inputs on key social issues including the COVID-19 pandemic and major floods of this year. Our sturdy research has enabled us to provide crucial decision-making support as a think tank.

The development of our own team has also been encouraging in 2020. We are very grateful to the generous support from our partner organisations including Hohai University, Nanjing Hydraulic Research Institute, etc., in providing us with very talented and professional brains to form a interdisciplinary team which could meet our research and development demands. We are also more than pleased that we have welcomed another 9 talented and outstanding experts like Prof. Roger Falconer to join our team.

2020 has also been a year when we became more of a influencer. The “Yangtze Lectures” we have started provides a valuable arena for crucial insiders of the field to share their ideas on the latest and most heated topics. We have hosted 5 talks this year and were pretty startled that, at the peak, around 10,000 people joined us, many virtually, for the events. We offered courses during the summer break to help young people of the field to further develop their interests and skills for their research. More than 900 students and young teachers from more than 30 organisations took the courses. In December, we hosted the first Yangtze Young Minds Innovation Forum. Many young and promising people were invited to the Forum, which provided a perfect opportunity for them to share their ideas. Currently, we are still in preparation for the 3rd ESTDS International Forum on Water Security and Sustainability, and we are thrilled to meet everyone, either in person or online, in the upcoming April.

The upcoming new year promises new challenges as well as opportunities. The YICODE team will continue to stay true to our own mission, and keep working hard towards the green development of the Yangtze River. Our principles of “innovation, collaboration, green, open and sharing” will not change, though we are at a new start of a new year to making ourselves better in supporting integrated river basin management and quality development.

With faith and expectations we are saying hi to the new year of 2021. Wish everyone happiness, health and prosperity.

(Translated by David Zhou, Zihan Yu)

Sunrise over river landscape

Feature image

Sunrise over river landscape

Original footage by upstreamcity on Pixabay.com

License free

向长期以来关心支持长江院发展的各界人士致以衷心的感谢和诚挚的祝福

你好,2021

长江保护与绿色发展研究院院长 张建云

长江保护与绿色发展研究院执行院长 唐洪武

一元复始,告别2020,我们迎来了崭新的一年,也是长江院的第二个新年。值此辞旧迎新的美好时刻,我们谨代表长江保护与绿色发展研究院向长期以来关心支持长江院发展的各界人士致以衷心的感谢和诚挚的祝福!

这一年,在江苏省人民政府、中国三峡集团的大力支持下,在水利部和教育部的关心指导下,在共建单位的倾力帮助下,长江院团队牢记建院初心,不忘“共抓大保护,不搞大开发”的使命与担当,奋发图强,取得了优异的成绩。

2020年是长江院科研成果丰硕的一年。长江院团队主持或承担“十三五”国家重点研发计划项目6项、课题20余项,国家自然科学基金重点和面上项目30余项,自主设立开放基金项目40余项;积极组织团队申报 “长江水科学研究联合基金”项目,最终斩获6项,资助金额近1500万元;受江苏省发改委委托,聚焦长江经济带高质量发展,深入对接江苏“十四五”规划编制,围绕南水北调东线二期线路规划、太湖水环境综合治理、深水航道效益与江豚保护、沿江化工产业转移与可持续发展、长江江苏段岸线保护与综合利用等事关江苏经济高质量发展的重大问题开展研究,取得重要的初步成果;组织撰写了首部长江保护与绿色发展领域的系统性研究文献——《长江保护与绿色发展研究报告》,入选教育部“2020年全国高校出版社主题出版选题”;通过内参以及央视、《光明日报》、《瞭望》、《新华日报》等重要媒体,就新冠疫情防治、汛期防洪救灾等热点问题,为国家和地方政府建言献策,提供精准、科学、有效的决策支持,用扎实的科学创新成果,充分发挥了“高端智库”的作用。

2020年是长江院构筑水利人才高地的一年。在河海大学、南京水利科学研究院等共建单位的共同努力下,长江院很快组建形成了一支跨学科、满足科研需求和学科发展需要的科研骨干队伍。长江院还紧盯流域综合管理和绿色发展领域的前沿和热点,“聚天下英才而用之”,持续吸引杰出英才加盟,先后引进英国皇家工程院院士、中国工程院外籍院士等高水平专职科研人员9人,着力打造高水平创新科研团队。

2020年是长江院努力提升学术影响力的一年。长江院创办的“长江大讲堂”是一个云集知名专家学者,聚焦国际科学前沿,服务国家战略需求的高端学术交流平台。“长江大讲堂”今年已举办五讲,邀请了国内外享有盛誉的专家和学者,解读流域保护和绿色发展中的热点和难点,探索水科学、水工程、水管理领域的国际前沿科学问题,最多时吸引近万人参与,影响力正在不断提升;今年暑期,长江院面向国内外开设暑期课堂,帮助学生拓宽学术视野,夯实专业基础,提高科研能力,共吸引到30余所海内外知名高校、科研院所900余名学生与青年教师报名参加;12月,长江院举办了首届“长江国际青年创新论坛”,邀请相关领域各层次青年专家、教师、学子等做客长江院,提供舞台帮助青年科研人员成长;目前,我们还在紧锣密鼓地筹备第三届“水安全与可持续发展高端论坛”,将于2021年4月在南京举办。

潮起海天阔,扬帆正当时。新的一年,挑战与机遇并存,长江院全体必将同心同德,凝聚奋斗前进的磅礴力量,迎难而上、勇攀高峰,保护长江、永续发展!我们支撑长江经济带高质量发展的决心不会变,“创新、协调、绿色、开发、共享”的理念不会变。我们将站在“0-1”的起点上,不忘初心、砥砺前行、开拓创新,努力将长江院建成国内一流、国际上有重要影响的科技创新平台和高水平咨询服务机构,为助力流域综合管理和高质量发展而不懈努力。

让我们满怀信心和期待,一同迎接2021年的到来。祝大家新年快乐、阖家安康!

Sunrise over river landscape

特写图片

Sunrise over river landscape

Original footage by upstreamcity on Pixabay.com

License free